My Mentor Told Me to Be Selfish

Here's How It Changed My Life

“ The future belongs to those who believe in the beauty of their dreams.”

― Eleanor Roosevelt

My Mentor Told Me to Be 'Selfish': Here's How It Changed My Life

Life was great.

My wife and I purchased our third property, our careers were growing and life was comfortable.

As a Maintenance & Facilities Manager, my job was stressful at times.

But we traveled often and maintained a healthy lifestyle.

Then one day, I received a call that disrupted life.

A former colleague and HR manager asked me to come to New York

to consider a new job opportunity.

They needed someone to develop and lead a smart manufacturing initiative called "Brilliant Factory".

It was right up my alley!

This also meant uprooting ― leaving behind friends, family and the comfortable life we built.

It was a tough decision.

Do I trade in comfortability for this potential growth opportunity?

I prayed about it and also talked to my mentor.

His words continue to resonate with me even now.

He said, "Banks! You have to take what's yours".

Most people know me for caring, sharing and collaborating.

When I heard “Take What’s Yours”, it seemed selfish.

I pondered for several minutes ― then it clicked!

We're all presented with opportunities and sometimes they're "once in a life-time" opportunities.

Would you agree?

I chase dreams, not regrets.

Therefore, I accepted the position and we lived in New York for 5 years.

Our success lead to other opportunities, new experiences and new relationships.

Les Brown once said, “If you do what’s hard, life will be easy. But if you do what’s easy, life will be hard. ”

Challenge: Take What’s Yours

―――

I don’t know exactly where you are on your journey, but I share words of encouragement, lessons learned, and ideas to help you grow your business.

If you find value here, please share this newsletter with a friend. Deal?

❤ Rudy

💡 TP’s Marketing Lesson

Why Starting a YouTube Channel Will Change Your Life!

Nolan breaks down 10 Reasons why you should start a YouTube channel in 2024!

🎨 TP’s Inspired AI Art

PROMPT: full body (((stunningly detailed fantasy portrait))), intricate details evoking a mix of horror and beauty with a (((snowy owl))) headed warlock dressed for winter as the focal point, set against a (((misty fantasy grunge backdrop))) that gives off a (Lord of the Rings) Elven vibe, accompanied by an (advanced technological interpretation) of a (((desolate post-apocalyptic wasteland atmosphere))) that blends with (mythological creatures and futuristic magic-technology) to create an epic composition that transports the viewer into a wondrous realm of surreal fantasy, pale low contrast, misty winter scene

Fantasy Owl Portrait - Leonardo.ai

🤑💡 Biz Idea: Turning $1M Into $1B - Watch

📈 TP’s Tech Trends

  • How to land a job in AI 🔗Read

  • Guerrilla influencers and AI news anchors, China is ramping 🔗Read

  • Can we rid AI of bias? 🔗Read 

  • A Once-in-a-Generation Investment Opportunity 🔗Read

  • Today’s News 🔗Read

🤖 TP’s AI Tool of the Week


Introducing GPT-4o

OpenAI Spring Update – streamed live on Monday, May 13, 2024.
Introducing GPT-4o, updates to ChatGPT, and more.

Thank you for taking the time to read today's TechPreneur Newsletter. I hope the information was helpful and inspiring. As always, I'm here to support you in your business journey, so please don't hesitate to reach out to me on Twitter at @rudybanx Keep striving for success!

Until next time!

~Rudy

P.S. - share this newsletter with family and friends.